Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Questions for the venison experts

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Dave R

Rank

On Time Out status

Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:07 pm

Questions for the venison experts

by Dave R » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:14 pm

Last winter a buddy of mine gave me two frozen venison tenderloins and I plan on making them later this week for himself, his wife and some other friends. I would really appreciate any tips for prep and cooking method. I’ve tried the back straps from both of the same bucks and they were not “gamey” in the least so I am hoping the tenderloins will be similar and will not need to marinate the meat. I have never made venison tenderloin before and really do not want to make a mistake. Is brining a good idea because the meat is so lean? And how about cooking? My hope is to just grill them, but again, I have zero experience with cooking venison tenderloin.

Thanks for any ideas.
Conjunction Junction, what's your function?
Hooking up words and phrases and clauses.
Hooking up cars and making 'em function.
no avatar
User

Bob Henrick

Rank

Kamado Kommander

Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:35 pm

Lexington, Ky.

Re: Questions for the venison experts

by Bob Henrick » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:24 pm

Dave R wrote:Last winter a buddy of mine gave me two frozen venison tenderloins and I plan on making them later this week for himself, his wife and some other friends. I would really appreciate any tips for prep and cooking method. I’ve tried the back straps from both of the same bucks and they were not “gamey” in the least so I am hoping the tenderloins will be similar and will not need to marinate the meat. I have never made venison tenderloin before and really do not want to make a mistake. Is brining a good idea because the meat is so lean? And how about cooking? My hope is to just grill them, but again, I have zero experience with cooking venison tenderloin. Thanks for any ideas.