Everything about food, from matching food and wine to recipes, techniques and trends.

Italian Ribs?

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Howie Hart

Rank

The Hart of Buffalo

Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Niagara Falls, NY

Italian Ribs?

by Howie Hart » Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:08 am

Somehow, Italian cooking and Southern BBQ are generally not considered compatible. At next weekend's NiagaraCOOL picnic the wine theme is Italian wines and I am considering BBQ ribs (pork). I've been using Chef Carey's BBQ dry rub and sauce for a few years now and love it. However, I am considering modifying his recipes to give the slow cooked ribs an Italian slant by eliminating the chili powder, cumin, brown sugar, Ketchup, etc. and substituting basil, oregano, ground cloves and spaghetti sauce with roasted peppers. Here's my plan. Any suggestions or comments?
ITALIAN BARBECUE

Italian Dry Rub

Ingredient Quantity
Cayenne pepper ¼ Cup
Paprika ½ Cup
Black pepper, finely ground ½ Cup
Garlic powder ¼ Cup
Dry Basil ¼ Cup
Dry Rosemary ¼ Cup
Oregano ¼ Cup
Dry mustard 1 TBSP
Ground Cloves 1 TBSP
Celery salt 3 TBSP

Italian Barbecue Sauce

Ingredient Quantity
Onions, yellow, minced 2 Cups
Olive oil ½ Cup
Cayenne 3 TBSP
Spaghetti Sauce 6 cups
22 oz. jar roasted red peppers – blended in Food processor with liquid
1 small can tomato paste
Dry mustard 3 Tablespoons
Dry red wine 2 Cups
Pepper, black 1 Teaspoon
Chico - Hey! This Bottle is empty!
Groucho - That's because it's dry Champagne.
no avatar
User

John Tomasso

Rank

Too Big to Fail

Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:27 pm

Buellton, CA

Re: Italian Ribs?

by John Tomasso » Fri Jun 13, 2008 6:18 pm

Sounds interesting Howie, but I am in the camp that says ban oregano from all Italian dishes............except pizza sauce, and even then, less is more.
Did you know that among Italians, oregano is sometimes known as "the pizza spice?"
In other words, that's all it's good for. :wink: :wink: