The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Dryness scale

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

PaulSP

Rank

Cellar rat

Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:59 pm

Long Island, NY

Dryness scale

by PaulSP » Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:28 pm

Hello all,
I am a graphic artist and I am working on a personal wine guide for myself and my friends/family. I have amassed a ton of information and descriptions on wines themselves, through wine guides and on the net, but I have been unable to find a definitive answer to one question. I am trying to put together scales in my book. For example, a red scale that ranks wines by the amount of dryness and/or body; beaujolais would be on the bottom, cabernet on top and merlot somewhere in the middle. The question is, where does chianti, tempranillo, shiraz, etc. all rank in relation to eachother? I want to use only the major varietals. I also wish to do the same for whites. I'd like to thank all in advance for their help with this. If there is any website or existing publication that you can point me to, please do.
no avatar
User

wrcstl

Rank

Wine guru

Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:20 pm

St. Louis

Re: Dryness scale

by wrcstl » Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:48 pm

PaulSP wrote:Hello all,