The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

Question on Bottling

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Justin Jones

Rank

Cellar rat

Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:50 pm

Pierre, SD

Question on Bottling

by Justin Jones » Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:56 pm

This may seem ridiculous, but I'm really new to this hobby of wine making. Not that I mind 750 ml bottles or corking. But is it possible, to bottle in gallon jugs, and to store it for any length of time. Lets say a year or two. If it makes a difference in the kind of wine I'm making, I'm working on five gallons of apple. :?:
no avatar
User

Hoke

Rank

Achieving Wine Immortality

Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:07 am

Portland, OR

Re: Question on Bottling

by Hoke » Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:28 pm

Sure it's possible, Justin. Why not.

I think the major worry, or thing to avoid, is in allowing too much oxygen to remain in the bottle once you seal it.

Keep the air space to a minimum, in other words.

Actually, bottling in a larger bottle would (or at least should) give you better capability for keeping your wine a longer period of time. You're decreasing the amount of oxygen in the bottle in relation to the amount of wine, so you should be slowing down oxidation. Plus, with most large jugs like that, you can use screwcaps!
no avatar
User

Mike Filigenzi

Rank

Known for his fashionable hair

Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:43 pm

Sacramento, CA

by Mike Filigenzi » Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:56 pm

I agree with Hoke. A few of our wines have been bottled in 4-liter amber screwcap bottles (these are quite available to those of us who work in labs and are guaranteed to be very clean). Much easier than dealing with corks.

Mike
"People who love to eat are always the best people"

- Julia Child
no avatar
User

Howie Hart

Rank

The Hart of Buffalo

Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Niagara Falls, NY

by Howie Hart » Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:27 pm

Hoke wrote:Sure it's possible, Justin. Why not.