The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Older Bordeaux at Troquet (and no Riesling at all!)

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Salil

Rank

Franc de Pied

Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:26 pm

albany, ny

WTN: Older Bordeaux at Troquet (and no Riesling at all!)

by Salil » Fri Sep 25, 2009 8:47 am

Ron Kramer organized a dinner of older Bordeaux yesterday at Troquet. This was an amazing experience (particularly as I've had very little experience with Bordeaux, older or younger) and all the wines were excellent across the board, with some really stunning bottles that were a real treat to taste. Troquet as usual was the perfect venue with fantastic food and sommelier Chris Campbell again doing an amazing job in taking care of the wine flighting/serving (with specific labelled glasses and decanters for each red, as usual).

The lineup of reds:
And the dessert:

Starting Champagne:
  • N.V. Egly-Ouriet Champagne Brut Rosé Grand Cru
    Really nice starter; light and refreshing with a pretty salmon-orange colour and lovely flavours of raspberry, apple, biscuit and touches of caramel. Well balanced with bright acidity and good length.
Flight 1:
  • 1970 Château Mouton Rothschild
    Stunning; surprisingly dark red in colour for a 39 year old wine with an awesome aromatic profile of leather, cigar smoke, red fruits, earth and truffles. Phenomenal in the mouth - there's a sense of restrained power here with deep savoury leathery, earthy and truffle flavours that take your attention away from the gentler red fruited notes, and with time this unveils more chocolate and smoky dimensions. Fully mature with resolved tannins, bright acidity underneath and a silky, polished texture in the mouth. Started to fade a little after an hour+ of air, but until then was really amazing to drink.
  • 1986 Vieux Château Certan