The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: A quick visit to London and Oxford

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Saina

Rank

Musaroholic

Tue Mar 21, 2006 4:07 pm

Helsinki, Finland

WTN: A quick visit to London and Oxford

by Saina » Tue May 05, 2009 4:02 pm

London and Oxford

29.4. at Terroirs

The Chateau de la Mercrediere Muscadet de Sevre et Maine 1999 was a lovely drop. I didn't find it very typical of Muscadet, but maybe that is because I have little experience with them when they get more than a few years' age. It was still mineral and had lovely acidity, but I thought it had a slight funkiness to it, so I was guessing a Jura Chardonnay from some producer that doesn't make a full-on oxidised style.

Louis Jadot Moulin-à-Vent Ch. des Jacques Clos de la Roche 2000 was a lovely wine but more Burgundian and marked by oak than what I perhaps expect from Bojo. But the oak had integrated well and it was a huge pleasure to drink.

Judging by the evaporation rate, however, I think it was the Foillard Morgon Cote du Py 2007 that I most fell in love with. It was everything that is good about natural wines: lively, pure and dangerously drinkable.

The Cos Pithos 2007 had much the same attributes as the Foillard except it has more sun and all that is associated with more sun. But since it retained the extraordinary liveliness, I didn't mind the sweetness and bigness at all.

Chateau Bernadotte, Haut Medoc 1996 was unspoofulated, classic Claret. And that is always lovely. I thought it was drinking beautifully now. Drink and hold.

I loved the food at Terroirs, and the wine list had only one or two wines that I wouldn't care to drink! Many, if not most, wines at Terroirs are from Les Caves de Pyrene - a truly wonderful company that imports almost solely endlessly fascinating wines. So I was very happy that Richard Shama at this off-line managed to get me a ticket to CdP's trade tasting the next day!