The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: 2005 Domaine de l'Espigouette CdR V.V

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Redwinger

Rank

Wine guru

Wed Mar 22, 2006 2:36 pm

Way Down South In Indiana, USA

WTN: 2005 Domaine de l'Espigouette CdR V.V

by Redwinger » Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:54 am

2005 Domaine de l'Espigouette CdR V.V

This is a blend of 70% Grenache, 10% Syrah, 20% Mourvedre from 45+ year old vines.

Popped and poured. Deep red color. Red fruit flavor profile with some earthy/leathery notes emerging after 45 minutes. On the lighter side of medium bodied. Nicely balanced. There is a bit of rusticity (whatever that really means), but for some reason I expected a bit more 'yard. The absolute best part of this wine is the pepper/spice on steroids finish...it just went on and on. I'm no expert on this Domaine, but I strongly suspect this wine will pick up heft and complexity from the Mourvedre component with a few years in Ye Olde Dungeon.

There is a tad left that I will sip later today and will report back if there are any changes on day 2.

Oh yeah, one other thing I really liked about this was the sale price of $9.99...back for more tomorrow.

Imported by J et R Selection, Lansing, MI

Redwinger
Smile, it gives your face something to do!
no avatar
User

Mark Lipton

Rank

Oenochemist

Wed Mar 22, 2006 1:18 pm

Indiana

Re: WTN: 2005 Domaine de l'Espigouette CdR V.V

by Mark Lipton » Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:45 pm

Redwinger wrote:2005 Domaine de l'Espigouette CdR V.V