The place for all things wine, focused on serious wine discussions.

WTN: Goosewatch (NV) Diamond, Finger Lakes

Moderators: Jenise, Robin Garr, David M. Bueker

no avatar
User

Paul B.

Rank

Hybrid Guru

Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Ontario, Canada

WTN: Goosewatch (NV) Diamond, Finger Lakes

by Paul B. » Sun Jun 04, 2006 11:44 pm

As a prelude to NiagaraCool, which is less than a week away, I decided to open the famed Goosewatch Diamond (non-vintage) Finger Lakes table wine that I received as a gift from Howie (thanks, Howie!). This is my very first time trying a varietal Diamond - a grape that's also been variously called "Diamond" and "Moores Diamond" in the grape literature.

The label bears no vintage at all, but I reckon that the wine must have come from a distinct vintage ... I mean, does anyone hold onto their Diamond crop and then blend different vintages? Methinks not. In any case, it might just be a peculiarity of the "table wine" category, though I've never been one to bother memorizing the fine print behind these things.

The synthetic cork was removed with ease. I stuck my nose into the open neck of the bottle and was greeted with the most opulent super-ripe pineapple-candy nose you can imagine. As I poured the wine into the glass, it looks positively viscous and I remember reading on the winery's website some time back that it has 5.8 g/l residual sugar if I'm not mistaken - now that is a decidedly sweet labrusca table wine.