Wine Poll #010: Back to the Issue of Cork

Founded by the late Daniel Rogov, focusing primarily on wines that are either kosher or Israeli.

How Many of Your Wines Have Been Corked

1-3%
58%
4-6%
29%
7-10%
8%
10-15%
No votes
more than 15%
No votes
I've never had a corked wine
5%

Total votes : 38

Wine Poll #010: Back to the Issue of Cork

Postby Daniel Rogov » Sat Sep 20, 2008 7:29 am

We have all been through this one a dozen times before but, inspired to some great extent by Hoke's posts at viewtopic.php?f=3&t=18610 , let's do an updated poll about our experience with cork as a closure and with TCA spoilage.

What percentage of the wines you open are corked? And in your comments, what suggestions would you make as to ideal closures for wine bottles.
Daniel Rogov
Resident Curmudgeon

Re: Wine Poll #010: Back to the Issue of Cork

Postby David M. Bueker » Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:19 am

I have been keeping track for a few years & I run in the 7-10% range. I drink a lot of Riesling (understatement of the year) which shows off aromas/flavors very easily, so there's no problem identifying the issue.

My closure preference is screw cap (vino-lok is ok too), and my buying is starting to reflect that. My personal commitment is that starting with the 2008 vintage I will not buy wine under cork. Yes this will limit my buying options, and some personal favorites will go by the wayside, but that's just something I will have to adjust to.
There behind the glass lies a real blade of grass. Be careful as you pass. Move along. Move along.
David M. Bueker
Riesling Guru

Postby James Roscoe » Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:39 am