Chateau Leoville Poyferre Saint Julien

Founded by the late Daniel Rogov, focusing primarily on wines that are either kosher or Israeli.

Chateau Leoville Poyferre Saint Julien

Postby Menachem S » Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:37 pm

Daniel, a couple of questions:

Any idea why prices on these wines move around so much? I am new to french wine, and there might be vintage variation in the price, I am just not familiar with it. Do they price these wines on strength of vintage?

Also, can we please have tasting notes for 2001-2005 for both the kosher and non-kosher additions of these wines?

I sw the kosher notes for the 2004 and 2005, and I am very excited about the 2005 . . .

Thanks!
Menachem S
Wine guru

Re: Chateau Leoville Poyferre Saint Julien

Postby Daniel Rogov » Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:49 am

Menachem, Hi….

Indeed there is an interesting aspect to comparing the regular and the kosher editions from the same winery over a period of time. My tasting notes follow, paired for easy comparison.

As to pricing fluctuations, my only guess would relate to supply and demand. For a more informed answer on that you'll have to consult with someone who understands the worlds of economics far better than myself.

Best
Rogov

Chateau Leoville-Poyferre, St. Julien, 2000: Deep garnet with orange and purple reflections, full-bodied, with firm but well integrated tannins. On the nose and palate cassis, red and black berries, spicy oak and appealing herbaceousness. A superb effort. Score 95. (Re-tasted 18 Feb 2005)

Charteau Leoville Poyferre, St.-Julien, 2000 (Kosher Edition): Full bodied, this deep garnet towards purple wine offers up generous almost sweet cassis and currants on a background of vanilla, smoke and light earthiness. Long and tempting even now but the tannins need some time to integrate. Best drinking will be from 2006 – 2012. Score 92. K. (Tasted 14 Jul 2003)

++++